Scholl Electronic Nail File Review + Giveaway

Just over a year after the Scholl Electronic Foot File (review here), there’s now a new toy on shelves – the Scholl Electronic Nail File, R489.

Before I received my review unit I saw the ads on TV in Australia and I was intrigued to put it mildly. I couldn’t grasp how this gadget was not going to file my nails and cuticles to shreds, and buff them to within an inch of their lives.

Turns out my worries were unfounded as the Scholl Electronic Nail File is super gentle – so much so that buffing requires a little more patience than I had imagined. The file comes with three interchangeable heads – one for shaping and two for buffing. They’re numbered so there’s no chance of getting things wrong, so you simply file and shape with head number one and buff and shine with numbers two and three.

scholl electronic nail file

scholl electronic nail file

I’ve always been super lazy with nail buffing so I love that I can just glide the heads over my nail surface without having to put in any actual effort. I find the ritual pretty calming, and my only criticism would be that I would have liked an additional buffing head that’s a little coarser than number two, but not as coarse as the filing head (number one). I’ve partially sorted this problem out by dulling a number one head reasonably well in a marathon nail filing session, so it might be worth hanging onto your used ones too.

Before and after shots below. They’re not perfect, but I did them as accurately as I could in changing light.

Before scholl electronic nail file
Before
After scholl electronic nail file
After

If you’d like to try one of these gadgets for yourself, you’ve come to the right place. There’s a Scholl Electronic Nail File Hamper up for grabs – we’re talking a file, a set of replacement heads, cuticle oil, moisture cream, serum and a R600 ALDO voucher which adds up to a value of R1700.

How to enter: Follow the instructions in the Rafflecopter widget below. If you enter using any other method, it unfortunately won’t be counted. Best of luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Open to SA residents only. Competition ends at midnight on Sunday, 17 April 2016. Only the first option is mandatory, but you may enter as many additional options as you wish. Terms & conditions apply.

C x

Follow:
Share:

64 Comments

  1. Michelle
    Apr 12, 2016 / 6:09 AM

    All done!!!! Fingers crossed.

  2. Nicola Meyer
    Apr 12, 2016 / 6:17 AM

    Hi! Buffing nails manually is hard work and this would be far easier

  3. Chelsea Harvey
    Apr 12, 2016 / 6:28 AM

    Hi! Such a great giveaway! Been wanting this for ages but ufortunately have not had it in my budget 🙁
    Would love to win this because as a teacher my nails get neglected (think chalk, paint, prestick) and would give me a chance to give them a little TLC with ease!

  4. Apr 12, 2016 / 7:02 AM

    This will be awesome! I am a nail biter and if my nails are neat I tend to not bite them.

  5. Janet
    Apr 12, 2016 / 7:11 AM

    Hi 🙂 I’d love to have one of these because I always struggle to keep my nails from splitting after I file them. I thought this file would be too rough, but it looks like the answer!

  6. Carolyn Augustus
    Apr 12, 2016 / 7:12 AM

    I would love to gets my hands on this prize cause I value my feet and want it to look good all year round.

  7. Gabi
    Apr 12, 2016 / 7:53 AM

    Thanks for the review – I’ve been intrigued by this and wondered how it worked. Sounds awesome!

  8. Natalie
    Apr 12, 2016 / 7:53 AM

    The file sounds amazing, i go through so many and some are so rough that I think i need to try this one.

  9. Leanne
    Apr 12, 2016 / 8:05 AM

    Would love to try this out , seriously !!! What a cool prize 🙂

  10. Ronnae Elliott
    Apr 12, 2016 / 8:23 AM

    This prize will help me file my nails in different shapes.

  11. Marzanne Swart
    Apr 12, 2016 / 8:31 AM

    I have been seeing this file everywhere! So happy to see a helpful review on it!

  12. dina dos santos
    Apr 12, 2016 / 8:46 AM

    would love to win, my nails could do with such a brilliant product to file and keep them tidy

  13. Nicolene
    Apr 12, 2016 / 8:49 AM

    Oh My gosh, i would love love love this!

  14. Apr 12, 2016 / 8:54 AM

    My nails needs some TLC so this will come in handy!

  15. Michelle Baron
    Apr 12, 2016 / 8:56 AM

    This would be amazing! I think I’d have to gift it to my gran, who would be so excited.

  16. Apr 12, 2016 / 9:02 AM

    Hi 🙂

    First of all amazing Giveaway 🙂 I would love to win like most ladies 😉

    I have seen the Scholl nail file so much in malls and I have been eyeing for awhile, I love the convenience of looking after your own nails in the privacy of your home or where you might be. I looked at your review and I was totally amazed by it your nails look so healthy and shiny and sometimes you need your nails to breath after wearing nail polish.

    Fingerscrossed I would love love love love love to win the Scholl Nail file so much, the whole prize sounds amazing including that Aldo voucher included 😉

  17. Apr 12, 2016 / 9:10 AM

    What an awesome giveaway! I do my nails religiously every sunday so that they look pretty for the week…but I’m super lazy to buff and stuff. This would be EPIC!

  18. Apr 12, 2016 / 9:23 AM

    Looks like an interesting contraption. Would be keen to give it a go! I like to take a break from nail polish every now and then because my nails are prone to splitting, etc, and even more so when I am wearing nail polish. This looks like a great way to make them look well groomed while still having them natural.

  19. mercialeen oconnor
    Apr 12, 2016 / 9:57 AM

    I want I want I want hehehehe (sorry your scholl sa link to facebook is not working)

  20. Ranjula W
    Apr 12, 2016 / 10:18 AM

    I’ve been using Scholl products since I can remember! And I been dying to get my hands on this magical product.

  21. Apr 12, 2016 / 10:54 AM

    I’m utterly useless at nails. Perhaps this will help! ;P

  22. Bianca Balutto
    Apr 12, 2016 / 12:18 PM

    I would love to win this amazing prize I love doing my nails at home so this will really help alot and the Aldo voucher is just a bonus 🙂 would love to spoil myself with a nice pair of heels

  23. Carmen
    Apr 12, 2016 / 12:21 PM

    The ads are on tv and it has caught my attention. Curious to give it a try. Would love to win it as I am two minded in spending that amount on it.

  24. Kivanya
    Apr 12, 2016 / 12:26 PM

    I seriously thought it would be harsh on the nails, but so relieved to find out that it’s not. Really really need one!

  25. Shana
    Apr 12, 2016 / 12:43 PM

    Would love one of these… Looks amazing

  26. Clelia
    Apr 12, 2016 / 12:59 PM

    So intrigued to try this, love buffing my nails and this looks like it could be rather fun

  27. Linds
    Apr 12, 2016 / 1:31 PM

    I would absolutely love this!! Looks like the perfect tool for busy ladies 🙂

  28. nasika baijnath
    Apr 12, 2016 / 1:34 PM

    oh warw amazing prize

  29. Depashni marie
    Apr 12, 2016 / 1:35 PM

    I would love to win this amazing prize to get rid of stained finger nails from working dark nail Polish

    • Depashni marie
      Apr 12, 2016 / 1:36 PM

      Wearing*

  30. Sharleen
    Apr 12, 2016 / 1:47 PM

    Love neat nails so I would appreciate and use this

  31. Hanneri
    Apr 12, 2016 / 1:49 PM

    I am super lazy at giving myself a proper manicure and therefore end up usually cutting my nails (not filing) and of course no buffing is involved. This looks like a great gadget to get me into a new routine.

  32. Nicole Jansen van Vuuren
    Apr 12, 2016 / 2:21 PM

    This would be such a treat for me because I have a very busy toddler son and not an allowance to spend at beauty salons! So what I need is this magnificent file to make my nails look perfectly groomed at the touch of a button, quick and easy. Also Aldo is one of those stores that I can only afford to window shop at, haha! 🙂

  33. Apr 12, 2016 / 2:23 PM

    I would love this prize. I’m a nail addict by heart and I love being adventerous with my nails- learn myself through youtube how to do acrylic- the smell is too much for me now I’m sticking to gels , tips, nail foils, nail art. Anything nails. And the foundation of a good mani is prep, this would save me so much time and effort. Loving the adverts and been drooling over one!

  34. abigaile
    Apr 12, 2016 / 2:28 PM

    what an amazing giveaway 🙂

  35. Lesley Wells
    Apr 12, 2016 / 2:35 PM

    I bite and fiddle with my nails and cuticles if I don’t keep them neat and tidy and this looks like the gadget for me.

  36. Jyothi Laldas
    Apr 12, 2016 / 3:20 PM

    I just clipped off all my nails because I have maintenance issues =/

  37. Simone Cameron
    Apr 12, 2016 / 3:24 PM

    I had my 3rd child 7 months ago…and I’ve been finding doing my nails is so therapeutic when I just need a time out. I know you’re thinking, who’d ever need a time out with 3 kids? ha ha.

    Anyways…I literally swatched all my nail polish (close to 40 bottles) onto a clear plastic sheet, named them, colour grouped….and I sit my butt down for an hour and glitterise (is that a word?), polka dot, flowers, whatever I can imagine…I do. People say my nails look fabulous… so that’s awesome!

    But I never manage to spend the time filing and buffing them. So there’s ridges and to shape them, I cut them into shape! lol. THis would be PERFECT for me to add to my little mani station at home <3

  38. Jess
    Apr 12, 2016 / 7:08 PM

    I hate filing my nails the traditional way but this sounds so easy I think I’d enjoy it and have pretty nails.

  39. Chevonne Poole
    Apr 12, 2016 / 8:43 PM

    Would love to get my hands on this awesome prize.

  40. REHANA SEEDAT
    Apr 12, 2016 / 9:04 PM

    My nails arein need of some TLC.

  41. Layla
    Apr 12, 2016 / 10:00 PM

    This looks sooooo good and easy !!! … Fingers x

  42. jade abbott
    Apr 13, 2016 / 7:40 AM

    I’ve just recently got into doing my nails like its a thang and i’m all over it, recently went ot get me top and base coats, even dry drops (all from Clicks btw) so this nail file would do well to set me on my way of getting the fab nails I strive for.

  43. Lynn Botha
    Apr 13, 2016 / 11:53 AM

    I was a nail biter until in my late 20’s. Absolutely no idea what made me stop.. Im now 40 and I still can’t get the hang of filing my nails nicely. They are always skew, most of them even grow skew. I would absolutely love to try this scholl nail file.. hopefully I can make my nails look pretty and I can show them off with pride.

  44. Apr 13, 2016 / 2:17 PM

    I would love to try this one out – I think I purchased the foot file and I’ve never even used it (can’t find it!)

  45. Farzana
    Apr 13, 2016 / 3:46 PM

    Cool gadget, need to get my ‘hands’ on it (haha see what I did there)

  46. Marcy
    Apr 13, 2016 / 4:58 PM

    Would love to win this lovely prize

  47. Charlene
    Apr 14, 2016 / 9:39 AM

    All done

    Hoping to win!!!

  48. anne botes
    Apr 14, 2016 / 11:56 AM

    amazing prize i would be so happy if i could win this great SCHOLL ELECTRONIC NAIL FILE

  49. Kim Petersen
    Apr 14, 2016 / 12:11 PM

    Amazing prize! Would love to own this great little device for great looking nails! I love your blog! Holding thumbs and toes

  50. Susan McCarthy
    Apr 14, 2016 / 12:32 PM

    Lovely prize that would help me replace all the old goodies and things to get my nails all shiny and buffed.

  51. Cirsten Van Den Heuvel
    Apr 14, 2016 / 8:18 PM

    What a amazing prize. This makes life so much easier for a busy business women or mom. I recently had a baby and to be honest these first 5 months I’ve let myself go. All my nails are different lengths from breaking and so brittle after pregnancy. I have a colicky baby so the only rest I get is after 8pm when he’s settled a bit then wakes again every 1 hour 15 mins after 10pm I at
    Least catch up on a nap during the day when he has a 2 hour nap but physically I’m exhausted I don’t even have the time to file my nails some week. I keep telling myself it will get better. This looks like it will make life a lot easier with fast quick pampering on the go.

  52. Renscha Smith
    Apr 14, 2016 / 10:53 PM

    This prize would seriously make my life so much easier!!! By the time I’m finished cleaning and buffing my nails, I don’t feel like painting my nails all kinds of beautiful colours and patterns, because buffing is so time consuming. I would absolutely LOVE to win this prize and fingers crossed, I’ll be the lucky one!

  53. Tanusta Jainarain
    Apr 15, 2016 / 10:08 AM

    Drooling over this prize!

    • Tanusta Jainarain
      Apr 15, 2016 / 10:12 AM

      I rarely look after my nails its such an effort , this will really come in handy for lazy me 🙂

  54. Cornell Botha
    Apr 16, 2016 / 12:08 PM

    Hi!!!!

    I would love to win this as I am also super lazy to file and buff my nails myself and this will be an awesome tool to use in between salon visits!!

  55. Anne
    Apr 16, 2016 / 6:35 PM

    This looks absolutely amazing. The only time I ever had a manicure was on my wedding day 5 years ago so I would love to treat myself to glorious nails

  56. Tracy Jacobs
    Apr 16, 2016 / 9:16 PM

    My feet and my hair are the banes of my life…..feet are always needing attention and this would help a lot 🙂

  57. Daniela Cardoso
    Apr 16, 2016 / 11:32 PM

    I would love to win this because my nails could really do with some pampering because they get pretty messed up when I need to work with wet cement/concrete when doing pracs at varsity for civil engineering. I would love to get a decent manicure but cannot afford to go to a salon regularly due to a very limited student budget.

  58. Cathy Badenhorst
    Apr 17, 2016 / 12:18 AM

    As a single Mom working part time there is just never enough time to really take good care of my nails with a regular manicure/pedicure…I do the best that I can but would really love to my nails to look much better than they are. The Scholl electronic file looks so easy to use and would really save me lots of time and money by being able to do my nails regularly and make them look like I went to a nail salon. This would be the perfect Mothers Day gift to myself to win this.

  59. Apr 17, 2016 / 1:17 PM

    Definitely need to try this!!! I pick at my cuticles, I know so naughty! So my nails tend to always be a mess!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *