Nivea In-Shower Body Moisturiser review

I love it when I can toss a new product into my trolley at my local Spar or Checkers, which is exactly what the case was with Nivea In-Shower Body Moisturiser. I’m probably THE laziest person when it comes to applying body lotion, so my reasoning was that I might as well see if this makes the task more bearable.

The instructions are simple enough: after washing and rinsing your body, turn the shower stream away from yourself (or switch it off if you’re really good) and apply Nivea In-Shower Moisturiser to your body. It has the texture of a thick body lotion and the bottle has a flip-top cap, so things are pretty straight forward. Just don’t push it and try moisturise the soles of your feet if you don’t have a non-slip mat in your shower – I was doing an involuntary moonwalk after that (no-brainer if you think about it though, my bad).

I did this after I applied conditioner to my hair, and just let things run their course when I rinsed my hair – I didn’t have to put in much effort to rinse off the In-shower moisturiser. It doesn’t leave any kind of film on the skin (I was imagining having to chuck my towel in the wash after every shower), but peculiarly it does take the edge off in the dryness department. There’s hardly any discernible scent.

Cat2 and Nivea In-Shower Body Moisturiser. I walked into the bedroom to get a towel to 'style' the bottle on but then I saw this lazy bugger posing it up on the bed and then, oh well.
Cat2 and Nivea In-Shower Body Moisturiser. I walked into the bedroom to get a towel to ‘style’ the bottle on but then I saw this lazy bugger posing it up on the bed and then, oh well.
Make luuuurve to the camera
Make luuuurve to the camera

My conclusion? If you’re in the habit of applying thick body butters on a daily basis; I doubt this will be able to replace them. If, however,  you’re (a) lazy like me and like a quick fix or (b) you don’t like the feeling of heavy products on your body (especially beneficial in hot weather or humid climates), you’ll probably love this. There’s no absorption time, hardly any scent and no feeling of product on your skin, yet dryness is alleviated and smoothness in improved.

I got my bottle from my local Spar, but it should be in most major retailers and Dis-Chem, Clicks and larger pharmacies by now. I paid around R40 for the 400ml bottle, and there’s a smaller size available too. Available in normal and dry skin variants.

Have you tried Nivea In-Shower Moisturiser? I’ve read so many mixed reviews, I’d love to hear from you.

C xx

PS – If you’d like to subscribe to this blog, click here.

Follow:
Share:

16 Comments

  1. Oct 21, 2013 / 7:00 AM

    I tried it, reviewed it and loved it! I was surprise at how moisturized I felt afterward, my owner problem with it is the bottle, it should be pump action or something because the downward facing bottle is harder to use in the shower. Cute cat model too!

    • Oct 21, 2013 / 8:54 AM

      Good idea! The bottle did once almost slip from my hand, I suppose there is room for improvement. And thanks, I was suprised when my model worked it for the camera 😛

  2. Sara-Lea
    Oct 21, 2013 / 11:51 AM

    I use the one for Normal skin – it has a lovely scent! And my towel still carries the scent a few days after – which I love. I agree that the bottle should be pump action. I think it’s a VERY good start for a new skin care trend. And it’s on special at Dischem – R28 for the 400ml.

  3. Oct 21, 2013 / 12:07 PM

    Great review. I love the pics. I still think this should be a pump and should come with a wall stick thing for your shower. I’ve only heard good things about it. I’m super lazy when it comes to applying lotion.

    • Oct 21, 2013 / 12:20 PM

      Thank you 🙂
      Urgh, most days I can’t be bothered to lotion and then I’m all itchy and uncomfortable. Can one person be that lazy? Because I actually have a spring in my step when I DO do it, it has the same effect as wearing sexy undies. I then try and convince myself soaking in an oil-filled bath once a week makes up for the times I don’t do it. A sticky wall thing or a rubber grip would be best, I think even a pump bottle would slip in a shower caddy. It’s not bad enough to put me off though, the slight juggling of the slippery bottle totally makes up for having to spend 5 minutes lotioning and waiting another 5 before your jeans will go over your lotioned ass.

  4. Margie Burger
    Oct 21, 2013 / 2:14 PM

    My skin is way too dry for this!!!!!

    • margie burger
      Oct 21, 2013 / 2:16 PM

      Lovely cat though x

    • Oct 21, 2013 / 3:34 PM

      Yup, didn’t think it would cut it for very dry skin.

  5. Oct 21, 2013 / 4:25 PM

    I have tried these (both actually) and I really REALLY like them. I also did a blog post on them. I’m exactly like you: laziest-body-moisturiser-applier-person ever! And for some reason I find it more acceptable to moisturise my body in the shower than out of the shower (I must be off my rocker), because both probably use equal amounts of energy and effort.

    Anyway, still love this stuff! Clear winner in my book! 🙂

    • Oct 21, 2013 / 5:19 PM

      Totally less effort in the shower – you’re still waiting for that conditioner/hair mask to do its job anyway and you eliminate the absorption time. And let’s not forget the novelty factor 🙂

  6. Smibby
    Nov 1, 2013 / 12:34 PM

    I tried this a few weeks back and I liked it so much I already bought a spare bottle from Pick n Pay because it’s on special. I like a good lotion/cream/body butter but hardly ever have the time to use these consistently, this Nivea In-shower moisturiser is a good compromise to my schedule and laziness. It absorbs quickly and does alleviate some dryness. I will say the bottle is a bit of pain to lug around to the gym but is frankly still easier to use than putting on lotion after a shower. I’m not sure how much a pump bottle would help this. Get review and site!

  7. Bobbi
    Mar 2, 2015 / 5:51 PM

    I purchased this after watching a tv commercial and thought “what the heck”. I have itchy ITCHY dry skin which drives me crazy in the winter (we live in Southern Alberta Canada!), and no amount of body butters (which are thick and slimy feeling under my clothes) or regular lotions have stopped the itching. My legs usually have that scaled look even when smooth to the touch – and my hands are always flaky looking less than an hour after moisturizer. I purchased the dry to very dry lotion from my local drugstore. About the same cost as a large regular bottle of lotion. This product has been AMAZING. after the first use, I noticed how silky my skin felt. Lasted all day, no repeating with a top up dose every couple of hours. By Day 2, the itching of my back and legs has stopped almost completely. I can sleep finally all night! I am going to use this for the next month and see how it holds up over the long run. So far – very impressed.

    • Mar 2, 2015 / 5:59 PM

      So glad you’ve found something that works for you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *